Hack

tree

Here is a poem I wrote for my Creative Writing class. The theme is self-discovery, as sometimes we all have to reject blind faith and find things out on our own. I present to you, “Hack”:

I want to cut you down and count the rings.

I want to take an axe and hack away,

But I can’t do either of those things,

Unless I want to ruin a life today.

They told me you were 600 years old,

And you’ve stood tall for centuries on end. 

I do not believe the words I’m told,

And I wish I were not such a loyal friend.

If I saw you down and count the rings,

Then the age would cease to be,

And all monsters, as living things,

Need to grow and die like me.

I want to take an axe and hack and hack,

To find the truth beneath your bark,

As a self-proclaimed lumberjack,

To find out who you really are.

But what’s the cost to discover truth?

Taking a life that would never fight back.

But I’ve been a victim of blind faith since youth,

So, unsure of myself, I pick up my axe.

 

Leave a Reply

